Abstraction Response

Jesus Jaime

Professor Schwartz

Survey of Animation & Visual Effects

12 September 2016

Abstraction Response

Abstraction seems to be the start for every learning artist out there. The concept of abstract art is to break away from any type of physical representation and explore a relationship between both form and colors. The use of abstraction was not only used to create memorable pieces, but to experiment with technology and further involving them. However, the use of abstraction came to a pause when it started to become problematic outside the United States because many countries believed that it was a use to revolt against their government. Although, despite that hatred artists outside and inside the United States created magnificent  abstraction pieces that are shown today. These artist include: Oskar Fishinger, James Whitney, Hans Richter, and Walter Ruttman; which I used in reference to created my own abstraction art.

The Abstraction Theory I decided to test on was using lines and shapes to create harmony and syncing it with a classical music piece. In order to begin this process I looked into both Oskar Fischinger’s “An Optical Poem” and James Whitney’s “Lapis” to start my idea on abstraction.   Looking at Fischinger’s work I enjoyed the way he used the circles and made them pop out or overlap. I took that into consideration and used it through frames 112-115 by doing that it made the lines pop while others did not.  Furthermore, watching “Lapis” made me want to create harmony and unity the same way he did with his spiral of circles. I did this in frames 80 – 85 and made the lines come together as a circle and would then later unravel itself. In result, watching these talented artist helped immensely to create a work of abstraction.  

The abstraction I created has a few flaws that could’ve been worked on a bit more, but there are frames that have a smooth and strong motion. For example, in frames 102-115 I made the square’s follow a smooth path while they later come crashing down towards each other and being pushed back away. I was influenced to do this type of drawing based on Hans Richter “Film Ist Rhythm: Rhythmus”  in this work he played around with the square many times and that made me want to do the same as well. Furthermore, in this project as a whole was a somewhat of a success to capture the magic of abstraction simply because I would’ve been better to create more harmony and playful shapes like in Walter Ruttmann “Lichtspiel: Opus I”. During post-production however, the music playing as the soundtrack was 1 second off sync.  In result, the project was most enjoyable too create and I believe my Abstract Theory is on the correct track.

This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

